• October 2018

Community leaders join Chamber Board of Directors

  • img
    Martin Deslauriers
    UBS Financial Services
  • img
    David Flicek
    Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center
  • img
    Pam Homan
    Augustana University
  • img
    Chris Houwman
    Malloy Electric
  • img
    Scott Lawrence
    Lawrence & Schiller, Inc.

As directed by the Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce bylaws, each year five individuals are nominated to serve three-year terms on the Board of Directors. The following Chamber members have been elected and began their term of service October 1, 2018:

Martin DesLauriers is a Financial Advisor at UBS Financial Services. An active member of the Young Professionals Network, DesLauriers recently completed a six-year term on the YPN Steering Committee, where he served as its 2016-17 chair and as the co-chair for the 2015 Crossroads Summit. He was also a member of the Chamber's 2016 Board Nominating Committee. DesLauriers is also currently serving as a board member for the South Dakota Symphony and for Horizontal Machining and Manufacturing.

David Flicek is the President & CEO and Chief Administrative Officer of Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center and Avera Medical Group. Flicek has volunteered or served on boards of directors for numerous organizations across the region, including the South Dakota Symphony, Life Source Clinical, the Avera Heart Hospital and the National Kidney Foundation of South Dakota. Avera has been a Chamber member since 1911.

Pam Homan is the Vice President for Advancement at Augustana University. She was previously the Superintendent of the Sioux Falls School District, during which time she served as ex-officio on the Chamber Board for more than 10 years. Homan's current community service includes leadership for McCrossan Boys Ranch, Khor Wakow Project and Sioux Falls Thrive. She has also served as a board member for Chamber partner organizations the Sioux Falls Development Foundation and the Zeal Center for Entrepreneurship.

Chris Houwman is the President of Malloy. He is passionate about developing talent, which is reflected in the organizations for which he volunteers. Houwman has served on the State of South Dakota Workforce Development Council, the Southeast Technical Institute Foundation Board, the Sioux Falls Development Foundation Board of Directors and the U.S. Bank Advisory Board.

Scott Lawrence is the CEO of Lawrence & Schiller, Inc. Currently, he serves as the chair of the boards of directors for the South Dakota Symphony and the National Music Museum. Lawrence has also volunteered as the chair of the boards of directors for the Sioux Falls Development Foundation and the Sioux Empire United Way and also served on the Forward Sioux Falls steering committee.

The following Board members were elected to serve one-year terms on the Chamber´s Executive Committee: Chair Tim Sturdevant, Sturdevant's Auto Parts; Chair-Elect Bobbi Thury, Legacy Law Firm; Vice Chair Dan Doyle, Cutler Law Firm; Treasurer Alex Ramirez, USA Media TV and Immediate Past Chair Steve Van Buskirk, Van Buskirk Companies. Chamber President/CEO Jason Ball is also a member of the Chamber's Executive Committee, serving as its Secretary.

The Chamber's Board of Directors is rounded out by the following members: Tom Biegler, Regency Hotel Management; Paul Hanson, Sanford Health; Sharon Haselhoff, Grand Falls Casino & Golf Resort; Randy Knecht, Journey Group; Laurie Knutson; Christy Nicolaisen, Multi-Cultural Center of Sioux Falls; Karla Santi, Blend Interactive; Claire Santos, Zoup! and WingStop; and Curt Zaske. The following representatives also serve as ex-officio members: Kent Alberty, Sioux Falls School Board; Kyle Groos, Sioux Falls Catholic School System; Cindy Heiberger, Minnehaha County Commission; Dr. Brian Maher, Sioux Falls School District; Jim Schmidt, Lincoln County Commission; and Mayor Paul TenHaken, City of Sioux Falls.

The following retiring directors will be recognized at the Chamber's 112th Annual Meeting on Tuesday, Oct. 16: Immediate Past Chair Dave Kapaska, D.O.; Wendy Bergan, JDS Industries; Mike Hauck, Accord Commercial Real Estate LLC; Mark Mickelson, Mickelson & Company; and Carl Wynja, U.S. Bank.

Thank you to our Chamber News Premium Sponsors

  • img
  • img
  • img
  • img