Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce - MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release:
Oct. 9, 2013

Contact Person:
Amy Smolik

Chamber's 28th Leadership Sioux Falls class begins today
The 28th year of the Leadership Sioux Falls program begins today. Leadership Sioux Falls is an eight-month innovative program designed to meet the community's need for active participation of informed and dedicated community leaders. The goal of the program, which is sponsored by the Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, is to inform, challenge and motivate participants by providing information on community resources, discussing community concerns, interacting with community leaders and building a sense of community trusteeship. This year's class was selected from more than 65 applications received. Due to the nature of the program, class size is limited to 30-33 participants each year.

Leadership Sioux Falls uses the community as a classroom with today's opening session held at the Great Plains Zoo, which focused on how growth and development happen in the Sioux Falls community and included a presentation and discussion with representatives from Minnehaha County. Class members took part in several networking activities including developing a timeline of the Sioux Falls community and a bus tour of Sioux Falls.

Since the program's inception in 1986, more than 760 people have graduated. More information about Leadership Sioux Falls can be found here.

Congratulations to the following individuals and their sponsors:

Jason Ackermann John Morrell & Co.
Sara Andrews Eide Bailly LLP
Tracy Bieber Junior League of Sioux Falls (Sanford Clinic Clinical Services)
Mark Broders McGladrey LLP
Ryan Brown Great Western Bank
Jeff Carlson Sioux Falls Federal Credit Union
Jordan Dalton Principal Financial Group
Dale Dobberpuhl PREMIER Bankcard
Jessica Evans South Eastern Council of Governments
Michael Fowler Good Samaritan Society
Maggie Groteluschen The First National Bank in Sioux Falls
Doreen Hardy Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center
Betsy Homan Southeast Technical Institute
Meghann Joyce Boyce, Greenfield, Pashby & Welk LLP
Chad Jungman Woods, Fuller Shultz & Smith PC
Josh Kattenberg Real Property Management Express
Daren Ketcham Metro Communications Agency
Jon Kirby Bluestem Capital
Sunny Nester Holtz Midcontinent Communications
Miranda Ochocki Feeding South Dakota
Amy Preator Wells Fargo
Laura Raeder Sioux Falls School District
Matt Sage KELO TV
Lucas Schoenbeck VistaComm
Jodi Schwan Argus Leader Media
Chance Stoeser Edward Jones
Todd Stone Stone Group Architects
Nick Gates Ernst Capital Group
Dustin Strande First Dakota National Bank
Kelsey Sweeney Hegg Companies Inc.
Matt Van Heuvelen Davenport, Evans, Hurwitz & Smith, LLP
Laura Widman Avera Health
Monte Watembach Minnehaha County



ADDITIONAL CHAMBER INFORMATION Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce
Media Releases  |  Photos  |  Other News 
As the leading Sioux Falls area business advocate, we represent our members by advancing and promoting the economic health and quality of life of the region. Call (605) 336-1620, email or visit for more information.